Microdiscectomy repair in Springfield Hospital.

I’ve had it done and I’m ready to update you all!

As you will know if you follow me on Instagram (@lipsticknlouboutins) you’ll be aware I’ve been suffering with crippling sciatica. Technically, the sciatica is a symptom as it’s a result of back pain but it’s the thing that is causing the most problems.

Until you have had sciatica, and I really hope you never do, I don’t think you can appreciate how debilitating it is; I touched on this on my previous post on here just before Christmas. But here we are – post surgery and feeling like a new person. Here is my experience.

Pre – op.

This may be unique as we are mid pandemic. All of my pre op assessments were done over the phone which was really strange. Due to the state of the world, it is a prerequisite to have a COVID test along with the normal blood and MRSA tests. This means self isolating for 14 days before the operation other than going to the hospital to have these tests.

I was in so much pain when I booked, I agreed to self isolate over the Christmas period, I knew it was going to be miserable but I just had to be out of this pain. However, Essex ended up being shut down anyway so I’m glad I agreed to.

The first COVID test was fine, but someone in the Springfield Hospital admin department messed up the dates on the second one. That was a stressful hour and a half as I was really worried my op would be cancelled; but they sorted it all out and it was soon a distant memory. So there I was, packing a bag and ready for my Microdiscectomy repair in Springfield Hospital.

On the day.

My partner drove me to the hospital where I had to ring and tell them I was there, before they would allow me in, due to social distancing measures. Once I entered, they were absolutely fantastic, there is always going to be a difference in a private hospital but Springfield really are fabulous, I couldn’t fault them.

A porter took me to my room and a nurse came in shortly. They asked me what I would like to eat and drink that evening and the nurse and I spoke for around ten minutes whilst she gave me a gown and the WIFI access; the two staples of my visit.

Before I had a chance to check my emails, the physio came in and we spoke for about half an hr; he took all my history and gave me some exercises to try – which I couldn’t manage. Although it was a good day in terms of my own personal level of pain, I still had very restricted movement.

He left and I sat down to do a little work, within 15 minutes of of the doctors came in to go through the pre-op assessment, I chanced my arm and asked if there was any way I could go home that evening. (I hate hospitals) He laughed and said ‘absolutely not’. He told me the operation would be 1-2 hours tops.

Within another hour I was laying on the bed, needle in my hand, waiting to fall asleep. The last thing I remember is the anaesthetist asking If I felt ‘strange’. I recall replying ‘I don’t think it’s working’. Then I woke up.

I was in a bad with a nurse next to me holding water which she was feeding me, my whole body was shaking and I was so cold. They brought a warm fan and held it under the sheet. It took a good twenty minutes to feel ‘normal’ but that’s to be expected. IT was at this point I noticed the time and I was the evening. My surgeon told me ‘it didn’t go exactly as we planned’ but assured be it was a good outcome and we would discuss it the next morning when I was more coherent. Whist laying there the nurse told me Boris was locking the country back down and I was the last operation to go through. I cannot express how lucky I feel to have slid though and had it sorted.

What now?

I was immediately award that the pain in my left bum cheek and thigh was gone. It was such a relief and I was actually comfortable. I couldn’t walk yet and two lovely nurses had to help me everywhere. I was also really emotional and tearful, which I now know is very normal after anaesthetic. I spent that evening slowly trying to move about and although it was still uncomfortable, I could tell there was immediate relief.

The surgeon came to see me the next morning and told me the disc herniation was much worse than it looked on the MRI, he said when the sciatic nerve was adjusted it was like ‘toothpaste from a tube (I think from the disc). I felt I could move and a physiotherapist came to see me. She helped show me how I should walk and maneuverer. For example the difference in how I should ascend and descend stairs. by mid-afternoon I asked if I could go home and thankfully they let me.

I had strict instructions on what I could and could not do, for example – sleep on your back or side, but not on your front (which I can’t anyway due to my chest). I also could not do any housework for 6-8 weeks due to the twisting motions. No laundry either as it involves lifting and bending.

The most noticeable immediate change was where the pain was in my left side was completely numb, I couldn’t feel a thing. Plus, my left foot was either numb, or had pins and needles, I was assured this was normal.

The following week.

I had staples in my back and was told that I was due to have them back after a week for removal, that really cringed me out. I could walk, but was very slow and for the first couple of days, it was more of a shuffle. My leg and foot remained numb.

The biggest change so far, and Ive been told not to worry about it although it is unusual, is that I’m 3 inches shorter. No one seems to know why or how but they don’t seem concerned. I was very tall anyway, but if I was short before, this would be more of a worry!

I overestimated myself I think, I thought I’d be able to carry on working and feel okay after but the first couple of weeks I was so tired and just didn’t feel with it, although, and this is huge – I was pain free for the first time in years. 8 days post op I had stopped taking pain killers.

I’ll let you know how I am soon; but I’m feeling very positive.

  • Sarah – LipsticknLouboutins.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started